answered question
3
Votes
Votes
3
Answers
Answers
M$1.00
Possible hijack. Please advise.
Recently I googled SUPREME TEMPLE PYTHIAN SISTERS. A website with Pythian Sisters came up as the first result. When I click on the website, I was directed to a website with an IP address. Immediately my McAfee popped up with a warning that this was a dangerous site. I used the back button to get back to Google. I tried it again with the same result. Then I typed in pythiansisters.org in a new tab, and I was able to get to the site. McAfee says that the sight is secure. I went back to the tab with Google and clicked on the link again. This time I was sent to the legitimate site. What do you think?
voted interesting: interzone, williamwaco, dumblonde
answers (2)
It is indeed a very bad site. It forwards you to hxxp://tubeontvgl.com/scan/?id=259 (I put the x's in there so people don't click the link) which is a site based out of the Ukraine. It proceeds to send you javascript pop ups saying you need to install anti-virus software. These are almost 100% of the time scam virus websites so just to be on the safe side I'd clear your browsers cookies and caches. After that run your anti-virus software and you should be fine.
| Asker's rating: |
Thanks for helping out.
voted helpful: hcp56, morriss003, dumblonde
In addition to your virus and spyware protection, download CCleaner from ccleaner.com. I use it on my system when I know I have hit an unsafe site and it cleans up everything. I love the program. It also cleans your cookies, cache, and unwanted programs.
voted helpful: dumblonde
Related questions
140 characters left













But how could this have happened in the first place? It seems the domain itself is owned by a legitimate group. Were they hacked?