Next Question
RSS
Please don't click on those (see links below) and certainly don't click on any downloads in "facebook" emails. Users who click on these links suddenly mysteriously show up on other people's walls advertising the same link or experience hardware malfunction...clearly a virus or spyware.
It's pathetic. Facebook should provide more security. Here's a link through which you can remove spyware (http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=19140202688&topic=4945)
I would also just go to contact on the facebook page and message tech administrators because this issue is definitely a nuisance!
Source(s):
http://www.switched.com/2007/12/05/facebook-under-fire-for-ad-tracking-syst...
http://www.sync-blog.com/sync/2008/08/breaking-news-f.html
http://www.switched.com/2008/08/08/hackers-using-facebook-wall-to-spread-vi...
Permalink | Report
dumblonde
dreamer08
Permalink | Report
Either way, if you don't know what this is and it sounds either too good to be true or too much of an attempt for you to click on it, DON'T!! and report it to Facebook, They have a contact us link.
Permalink | Report
heres a recent fb virus that was temporarly disturbing the users.... the koobface worm.
http://www.insidefacebook.com/2008/08/26/update-facebook-security-fighting-koobface-worm-chain-letters/
Source(s):
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2007/07/31/facebook/
http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/08/08/facebook-security-advice-never-ever-en...
http://www.insidefacebook.com/2008/08/26/update-facebook-security-fighting-...
Permalink | Report
Answered Question
M$1
December 22, 2008 09:46 PM
Have you seen facebook wall posts telling you to go to wagfloat.com and other sites? Virus? Phishing scheme?
It seems to be a scam to get information. I got the wall post from a friend of mine and her account. I'd like to know if she got this due to virus or spyware or if somehow her password was stolen through a phishing site. I visited the site wagfloat.com with scriptblocking on and it asks for name and email so I think it's for spam.
Who can check this out/can I report this to?
bakechime.com, clapcackle.com and several other websites seem to be mirrors.
NOTE: Please give me specific information. I KNOW it's not legit and I know it's some sort of scam. I just want info that's a bit more specific like who to report to and if you've seen this.
Who can check this out/can I report this to?
bakechime.com, clapcackle.com and several other websites seem to be mirrors.
NOTE: Please give me specific information. I KNOW it's not legit and I know it's some sort of scam. I just want info that's a bit more specific like who to report to and if you've seen this.
Interesting Question?
Yes (0)
No (0)
RSS
Best Answer Chosen by Asker
| December 22, 2008 10:06 PM |
It's pathetic. Facebook should provide more security. Here's a link through which you can remove spyware (http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=19140202688&topic=4945)
I would also just go to contact on the facebook page and message tech administrators because this issue is definitely a nuisance!
Source(s):
http://www.switched.com/2007/12/05/facebook-under-fire-for-ad-tracking-syst...
http://www.sync-blog.com/sync/2008/08/breaking-news-f.html
http://www.switched.com/2008/08/08/hackers-using-facebook-wall-to-spread-vi...
| Asker's Rating: |
• Thanks for the answers!
Permalink | Report
dumblonde
December 22, 2008 11:19 PM
Do you think my friend got this through spyware or do you think she accidentally gave up her password through a phishing site?
Tip dumblonde for this comment
Report
dreamer08
December 23, 2008 01:07 AM
I am pretty sure it's the latter.
Tip dreamer08 for this comment
Report
Other Answers (3)
December 22, 2008 09:50 PM
www.snopes.com is a great place for scam information. If it's on there, it's a scam. Also, don't ever click on extraneous links through Facebook. I won't even accept a Christmas Wreath from a friend. Everytime you mess around on there, you're sharing your personal information with people and putting yourself at risk for identity theft, etc. Be careful.
Permalink | Report
December 22, 2008 09:56 PM
Is this an actual person you don't know that "Posted a text" on your wall? Nowadays Facebook puts advertisement in between your profile and your wall so, are you sure this is not labeled anywhere as advertisement? Either way, if you don't know what this is and it sounds either too good to be true or too much of an attempt for you to click on it, DON'T!! and report it to Facebook, They have a contact us link.
Permalink | Report
December 22, 2008 11:31 PM
I recently read an article on facebooks lack of security and private information. heres a recent fb virus that was temporarly disturbing the users.... the koobface worm.
http://www.insidefacebook.com/2008/08/26/update-facebook-security-fighting-koobface-worm-chain-letters/
Source(s):
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2007/07/31/facebook/
http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/08/08/facebook-security-advice-never-ever-en...
http://www.insidefacebook.com/2008/08/26/update-facebook-security-fighting-...
Permalink | Report
Answer this Question
Related Questions
Ask a Question
Buy Mahalo Dollars with Credit Card or PayPal
Top Members
Most Popular Tags
Categories
- Anonymous
- Arts & Design
- Beauty & Style
- Books & Authors
- Business
- Cars & Transportation
- Consumer Electronics
- Coupons Deals
- Education
- Entertainment
- Environment
- Fitness
- Food & Drink
- From Email
- From Iphone
- From Twitter
- Health
- History
- Hobbies
- Home & Garden
- How Tos
- Humor
- Jobs
- Legal
- Local
- Love & Relationships
- Mahalo Answers Community
- Money
- Music
- News
- NSFW
- Parenting
- Pets
- Science & Mathematics
- Services
- Shopping
- Social Science
- Society & Culture
- Sports
- Technology & Internet
- Travel
- Video Games
Welcome New Members
- luckynumber, November 11, 2009 03:15 PM
- jap23, November 11, 2009 02:58 PM
- kadiiiii, November 11, 2009 02:49 PM
- gretchen1976, November 11, 2009 02:46 PM
- autorepairwarra..., November 11, 2009 02:40 PM
Mahalo Dollars are the currency of Mahalo Answers.
Each Mahalo Dollar costs $1.
Once you earn more than 40 Mahalo Dollars, you can request to be paid via PayPal. Each Mahalo Dollar is currently worth $0.75 when paid out via PayPal. Learn More