kelraye78's Avatar
kelraye78 15
231 Asked
466 Answered
235 Best
3
No one has voted on this question yet :(
1 year, 8 months ago

Is this a phishing attempt or a real email from Windows Live?

It seems that I have received a record number of phishing emails lately, and I am really not sure why. Today, I got this message that was supposedly from Windows Live:

Dear Account User,

We encountered a problem with our database and a lot of records were lost, we are restoring our database to enable us serve you better. Your Windows Live! Account details are required so as to store in our database to keep your account active. Failure to do this will make you loose your account permanently.

To update and enable us restore your account details in our database to keep your account active, you are required to provide us the details below urgently. Click the reply button to enter details below.

Name: ……………………..
Username: ……………………..
Password: …………………….
Date of Birth: …………………

Country or Territory: …………

Make sure the details above are correct to enable us restore your account details, this will help prevent your account from being suspended.

Note: YOUR DETAILS WILL NOT BE SHARED.
Users have often told us that the more they use Windows Live! Service, the more they discover its benefits. We'll keep working on making Windows Live! the best email service around, and we appreciate your joining us for the ride.

Sincerely,
Windows Live Alert Team

The email address at the top of the email was liveteam@consultant.com. Is this a legitimate email? Or is this yet another phishing scam?
Tip for best answer: M$0.53
Separate topics with commas, or by pressing return. Use the delete or backspace key to edit or remove existing topics.

You can leave an optional "tip" with Mahalo's virtual currency, Mahalo Dollars. If you are asking a difficult question that might require some research, or if you'd like a wide variety of feedback, a higher tip often leads to more answers to your question.

M$

What is Your Answer?

0
0
0

4 Answers

2
ferg2kk's Avatar
ferg2kk | 1 year, 8 months ago
7
This is a phishing scam, no doubt.

Here are the red flags for me:

1. They asked for your information.
This is a no-no for all organizations world wide. Never, ever respond to a message asking for your account information, even if it is just a confirmation.

2. The return email is @consultant.com.
This website isn't real (there is currently a squatter web page at that address - consultant.com).

3. They claim they lost your data and need you to restore it.
Yes, data loss happens sometimes, but it is rare. More often, you would get an email stating that the service went offline for a few hours while they restored the data from a backup, and they are sorry for the inconvenience. There would be no request for you to provide information.

I would strongly advise you to delete this immediately. I have included some sources for further reading if you would like.
source(s):
Microsoft Online Safety: How to reduce the risk of online fraud (http://www.microsoft.com/protect/fraud/phishing/reduce.aspx)
Microsoft Online Safety: What to do if you've responded to a phishing scam (http://www.microsoft.com/protect/fraud/phishing/respond.aspx)
Microsoft Online Safety home (http://www.microsoft.com/protect/)

Hoax Slayer: About Phishing Scams: http://www.hoax-slayer.com/phisher-scams.html

You can leave an optional "tip" with Mahalo's virtual currency, Mahalo Dollars. If you are asking a difficult question that might require some research, or if you'd like a wide variety of feedback, a higher tip often leads to more answers to your question.

M$

Report Abuse

Post Reply Cancel
1
ciaramadre's Avatar
ciaramadre | 1 year, 8 months ago
2
Of course it's phishing. Don't give them any information. Report them at the URL below. And if you right click on the header, without opening the email, you'll see properties, click that and see what domain it actually came from. Click details. Click Message source. Copy the information for your own references, and in case the reporting org. asks. See source below

You can leave an optional "tip" with Mahalo's virtual currency, Mahalo Dollars. If you are asking a difficult question that might require some research, or if you'd like a wide variety of feedback, a higher tip often leads to more answers to your question.

M$

Report Abuse

Post Reply Cancel
1
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir | 1 year, 8 months ago
22
Quick answer: This is just one of those scams.

It has all the marks, including reference to official bodies, assurance the information will be kept private, an email address that 'resembles' a real Microsoft live address, and a request for several personal details, including the most important one: the password.

Just delete, and never look back at it.

You can leave an optional "tip" with Mahalo's virtual currency, Mahalo Dollars. If you are asking a difficult question that might require some research, or if you'd like a wide variety of feedback, a higher tip often leads to more answers to your question.

M$

Report Abuse

Post Reply Cancel
0
emailguy's Avatar
emailguy | 1 year, 8 months ago
1
Yes, this is a phishing scam. Never give anyone your password or other personal information.

You can leave an optional "tip" with Mahalo's virtual currency, Mahalo Dollars. If you are asking a difficult question that might require some research, or if you'd like a wide variety of feedback, a higher tip often leads to more answers to your question.

M$

Report Abuse

Post Reply Cancel

Learn something new with our FREE educational apps!

Private lessons in the comfort of your own home. Get back in shape or finally pick up a guitar with our great experts guiding you the whole way!
Learn Guitar
Learn Hip Hop
Learn Pilates