How legit and safe is the free online TV site ATDHE.net?
I claimed a task to build a page about it, but had difficulty finding any good info about it. For example, on who is behind it, where it is based, how it was funded etc. The site seems to have no About page, and does not mention the names of any of the people involved.
On the other hand I did find some complaints in forums where people felt that it had installed serious malware on their PCs, such as rootkits and botnet software, and caused their PCs to slow down drastically.
What do you know about this site, and what can you discover?
Have you used it? If yes have you had any problems, or has it worked well for you?
If there are issues, are they with ATDHE.net itself, or with the various other video streaming sites that it aggregates?
You can leave an optional "tip" with Mahalo's virtual currency, Mahalo Dollars. If you are asking a difficult question that might require some research, or if you'd like a wide variety of feedback, a higher tip often leads to more answers to your question.
M$2 Answers
As for who runs it and who is behind it, that's a bit harder to find out, even the WHOIS lookup only brings up that it's based in Sweden. - http://www.cqcounter.com/whois/
Basically they curate through all the usual online feed suspect sites like Ustream and Justin.TV and find the feeds for the game - Since both Ustream and Justin.tv have their share of feeds that will trick you, atdhe does a service by finding the actual feeds with the game.
As you can see, they will take a feed and host it themselves.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/33749589@N07/4456428242/
However Justin does appear to host their own events at times when perhaps there are inconsistent feeds elsewhere, You will notice sometimes they have multiple links for an event, in this case they maybe hosting it themselves, however again, I have never encountered the demand for a download, as they always use a standard flash player.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/33749589@N07/4456432886/
So I am not sure where the complaints of malware come from, as a long time user I can vouch for them.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/33749589@N07/4455658063/
You can leave an optional "tip" with Mahalo's virtual currency, Mahalo Dollars. If you are asking a difficult question that might require some research, or if you'd like a wide variety of feedback, a higher tip often leads to more answers to your question.
M$You can leave an optional "tip" with Mahalo's virtual currency, Mahalo Dollars. If you are asking a difficult question that might require some research, or if you'd like a wide variety of feedback, a higher tip often leads to more answers to your question.
M$


I have tried it now and it looks safe and legit...
Hey Philipy, huh, honestly I never noticed that - In two years I've never had a problem with hitting the "viewer limit"
Regardless, UltraSurf is also a fine program that I have on my computer, it's basically a proxy - I use it for watching American TV here in Canada :D
Great answer as usual @jeffhoard.
I notice that in your first screencap just above the TV picture there is a line that says: "If viewer limit message appears....", and then tells to download something called Ultrasurf.
Could that be the source of the problem?
Know anything about this "viewer limit" message or the software mentioned?
Overall your endorsement does a lot to put my mind at ease.